Reviews – an irrelevance or a joy?

by juliecround

Beginning to enjoy writing reviews but wondering about their effect.
As a reader I hate reviews that tell me the whole story.
As an author I like to hear from anyone who has read my books.
As a publisher I wonder if it matters where a book is reviewed and who does the reviewing.
There seem to be a lot of places on line where reviews are offered but I don’t visit them and I wonder who does.
Newspapers obviously get the books they review from the publishers and those books will be aimed at the specific readership.
I never look for reviews, but I do listen to folk who tell me that a book is worth reading.
Maybe for too long I have been a writer rather than a reader. Now I have a better balance I am hoping my reading helps my writing. Time will tell!

