Wiggly woggly road

by juliecround

Just back from a weekend away near Daventry. I’ll put a photo in the next blog but meanwhile must comment on the A361 from Banbury. The Romans did not build it. The history of the road must be fascinating as it links a number of little villages but rarely goes in a straight line. This is near the boundary of three counties but doesn’t appear to be following a river so I guess it must be due to contours or land ownership. Whatever caused the constant curves it certainly makes for an interesting ride – and through such beautiful countryside, too.
Unfortunately we were out in the wilds so I didn’t do my usual trick of picking up literature about the area and the hotel didn’t even have any postcards for sale.
I suppose all we needed to know was on line. No-one seems to print useful information any more. I couldn’t even find a booklet about all the Little Chefs on our way home -and I know they used to provide them!
Oh well, back to researching on the computer!

